So I came “back” to work last week. “Back” being a funny word to use really, as it’s been a long time since I worked for my own company, and the last time I did, we were not doing what we are currently doing.

The most recent job that I had was a little over 2 years ago, before the birth of my youngest child. I was at that time working for Key to My Heart, a wonderful company, started by my good friend. At Key to My Heart I was the Customer Relations Manager, so at the end of the day I simply hung up the phone and went home.

So, what do we do at Vanessa Brooks Inc.? And what did we do the last time I worked here?

Once upon a time, Vanessa Brooks Inc. was a provider of natural health & beauty products. We were distributors of a number of well known brands here in South Florida, mostly to the hospitality industry. That was back when the “Vanessa” was well and truly involved in the company. Health & Beauty products are something that Vanessa knows a lot about. Some day soon I’ll blog more about the health & beauty products that I absolutely love and cannot live without.

Since my absence from the company my husband, Keith, took the helm and steered the business in a  very different direction. The world of IT. The growth of our company over the last few years is due solely to Keith’s determination and persistence in finding new clients and  making new connections.

Now, when you tell someone “my company is an IT company” they think “oh, another one”. But here is why Vanessa Brooks Inc. is different: We specialize in a special area.

Keith is a pioneer in the world of wireless applications. The products that we work with are mostly Lotus products, as in Lotus IBM. You will not find many people more qualified than Keith Brooks to take care of your Lotus solutions.

Vanessa Brooks Inc. is an IBM Business Partner and we provide solutions to clients globally.

My own background is more in the area of marketing, sales & customer relations. I have a lot to learn about the products that my company works with. And learn I will! My hours at the office may be few, but I live with the person that I share an office with, so there is no real time off, even after I’ve finished my shift on the second job and all the kids are in bed for the night.

Watch this space, as a Mom of 3 returns to the work place.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Keith Brooks
    Sep 14, 2009 @ 15:14:28

    I am not a pioneer but appreciate the comment.
    Keep up the good work.

    Reply

Please comment - anonymously if you choose

