The Working Mother (oh yes, I’m going there)

I always expected to be a working-out-of-the-house- mother.

I worked out of the house on and off while my kids were truly babies. I did some minor consulting work for a few people, and I worked for a friend’s jewelery business fora few years. All fairly flexible jobs where I got paid by the hour so hours not worked was money not earned, and the baby was either with me or with my husband or his grandparents.

Now my youngest baby is two and she started preschool last month. I was looking forward to some free time, to continuing the remote management of Vanessa Brooks Inc. as I have been doing until now. But no, Keith had other ideas.

“It’s time for you to be a presence in the office”, he said. “People want to see the ‘Vanessa’ of Vanessa Brooks Inc.

So here I am. I am currently working only part time in the office, as the baby finishes school at 1pm. And let me tell you, it’s hard! I drop her off at school (which she loves, so no problem there), come straight to the office, work for a few hours, leave to pick her up, go home, put her down for a nap, eat some lunch, return a few calls, and then she wakes up. At that time we usually have to get in the car to go pickup the other two kids from school. Come home, snacks, homework, prepare dinner – if I’ve had time to go grocery shopping for food.

And that is just with working part time. How do full time working moms do it? Before I was a mother grocery shopping got done at night or on the weekend. Laundry was done on Sunday or overnight in the washer and in the dryer in the morning. With 3 kids, I’m too tired to go grocery shopping late at night – and it is late by the time everyone goes to bed! And you can’t eat take-out food for dinner every night! I am in awe of those mothers who do work full time outside of the house and do not have household help.

To all the working mothers reading this who are nodding their heads in agreement, kudos to you! Whether you are working because you love what you do, or because you have no choice financially, I respect you.

I’m going to post separately about stay-at-home-moms. Because I have a lot to say about that too.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Rachel
    Oct 01, 2009 @ 13:23:21

    Way to go, Vanessa!

    Reply

Please comment - anonymously if you choose

