Ilyene Barsky – a woman with a mission

I just learned of the passing of Ilyene Barsky, founder of The Center for Postpartum Adjustment in Coral Springs.

Ilyene was also the Postpartum support coordinator for the State of Florida.

Back in 2003 after the birth of my second child I suffered from Postpartum Depression – PPD. I recognized my symptoms and understood that I had to do something about it. I took anti-depressants for a while which helped a lot, but it was therapy that really got me through it all. Without going into too much detail – most people who have known me for longer than a couple of years know my story – Ilyene Barsky probably saved my sanity, and possibly my marriage and my relationship with my babies.

A close friend told me about Ilyene’s center, and encouraged me to make an appointment, and I remain eternally grateful to her for sharing that information with me. The strength gained from those sessions helped me found a support group for Jewish women suffering from PPD, JOMINOSJewish Observant Mothers In Need of Support.

JOMINOS has not been so active for the last couple of years, but it is something that I would like to resurrect, so that the mothers in my community still have that sense of support when they need it. JOMINOS is not simply a support group for women with PPD or Baby Blues, but also a group for Jewish mothers to meet and discuss issues that affect all of us.

Ilyene Barsky was in many ways a pioneer. She was determined to put PPD on the map. She went above and beyond to get PPD recognized as a serious condition that needs to be treated and not just shoved under the carpet. Her door was always open, her phone line always available. She reached out to so many who were in need, at a time when it seemed that nobody understood what they were going through.

Thank you to Lauren Hale for bringing to my attention that Ilyene has passed away. May she rest in peace, and may her memory be a blessing to so many of us whom she helped.

 

Please comment - anonymously if you choose

