2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Robyn - Tee
    Mar 02, 2011 @ 12:59:31

    Some where on my blog is the story of what it took to get my name on Simon’s account in the UK. And that was only possible after we were married. So I had no access to money for about a year. Simon had to hand me cash like a 50s housewife!

    And some day I’ll finish writing the entry about how hard it was to open a savings account here. It took about 4 trips to the bank and 5 phone calls.

    Reply

    • vanessabrooksceo
      Mar 02, 2011 @ 13:04:54

      Oh I totally skipped about how I walked around for about 6 months in London with tens of thousands of dollars in TRAVELERS CHECKS!!! because I could not open a bank account. That was WITH my grandparents will to cosign for me. Keith was only able to open an account b/c he was working for IBM. Eventually my uncle (a very well known solicitor with a lot of contacts) got involved on my behalf and called a client/friend who was somewhere high up in the echelons of Barclays. That is how my accounts ended up there. The fact that there was no signature on file for me, was not all that surprising, because I never had an actual branch, and my accounts were opened by someone very senior, and it was all done in a non-conventional way….
      so yes, I absolutely know what you went through!

      Reply

Please comment - anonymously if you choose

