Who says you can’t go home?

I’ve been there, done that, now I ain’t lookin’ back
It’s been a long, long road, feels like I’ve never left
That’s how the story goes

Bon Jovi – Who Says You Can’t Go Home

There are songs I love for the music, songs I love for the memories, and songs like this, that I love for the lyrics (see below). I left my original home, Dublin, 20 years ago next month. I am traveling there for a week at the end of August. Before you all get your knickers in a twist, I’m going for the metzeva (unveiling) of my grandmother, עה”ש who passed away last year, and whose funeral I was unable to attend. School starts Monday, August 22nd, and I leave Wednesday, August 24th. I was very unhappy about the dates, because with the kids being in a new school, I worried about the transition for them while I was away.

Thankfully, I can now report that this is a non issue. The Brooks children will be attending Hillel Day School for the coming school year. Now I can depart 2 days after school starts, leaving them in the loving, capable care of their familiar teachers, familiar friends and familiar surroundings (and Daddy). Who says you can’t go home?

It been a long, stressful summer in our house. My older kids were both acutely aware of what was going on with school, because many phone calls took place in their presence, not to mention the many people who approached me everywhere we went, to share their stories with me. I did my best initially to keep them from knowing that they may not be going back to Hillel this year. I felt that it was something we would sit down and discuss when the time came, but until it was certain, I didn’t want to upset them. I shouldn’t have worried. They both handled the situation far better emotionally than I believed them equipped to do. They came up with other solutions if we were unable to work it out with Hillel. They asked to be home-schooled, so they could learn more advanced math, and to learn the Judaic things they want to learn. We discussed the pros and cons of public schools, charter schools and of other Jewish Day Schools in the area. Their maturity surprised me, and their nonchalance about the uncertainty helped me feel less stressed.

After I spoke to Rabbi Levine the other day, and I was able to confirm that we are going back, I told the kids “hey, guess what? You guys are going back to Hillel”, they both just said “ok”. Kids, eh?

My kids are always my first priority. I’ve said that before. Their education is important to me. Their Judaism is very important to me. I still maintain that being in a Jewish Day School does not a Frum Jew create. But this Jewish Day School is the best place for my kids for now. They are, as it was, going “home” to school.

While I am relieved that we have worked it all out for our family, I cannot ignore that there are still other families waiting to find out where their kids will be on the first day of school. I find it hard to believe that with two weeks left until school begins, there are still so many people in limbo. If the number of emails that have landed in my inbox from school this week is anything to go by, the office is back on full throttle. Why then, are so many still waiting for answers? I sincerely hope that everyone who wishes their children to be at Hillel for this coming year will have that wish granted and quickly!

In celebration of receiving our contract, we will be taking a family cruise next week, so I won’t promise a blog post next Friday. OK, that was lame. And so not happening. I guess, for now, my blog will resume its usual subject matter – a mix of skin care, music, parenting, and perhaps, from time to time, school stuff, like mandatory lice-checks the week before school starts. Which I am bewildered at. Especially that it’s on a different day to “drop-in” day when supplies can be picked up.  And that it is being carried out by an outside company. Who pays for that?!

This is not some fairy-tale ending, it’s just another chapter in our lives.

Shabbat Shalom, and I wish you all a meaningful fast on Tisha B’Av. May we merit to see the 3rd Temple be built in our lifetime, and put an end to all our suffering!

“I spent twenty years tryin’ to get out of this place
I was lookin’ for somethin’ I couldn’t replace
I was runnin’ away from the only thing I’ve ever known

And like a blind dog without a bone
I was a gypsy lost in the twilight zone
I hijacked a rainbow and crashed into a pot of gold

I’ve been there, done that, now I ain’t lookin’ back
And the seeds I’ve sown, savin’ dimes
Spendin’ too much time on the telephone
Who says you can’t go home?

Who says you can’t go home?
There’s only one place that call me one of their own
Just a hometown boy, born a rollin’ stone
Who says you can’t go home?

Who says you can’t go back?
Been all around the world and as a matter of fact
There’s only one place left, I want to go
Who says you can’t go home? It’s alright
It’s alright, it’s alright, it’s alright, it’s alright

I went as far as I could, I tried to find a new face
There isn’t one of these lines that I would erase
I left a million mile of memories on that road

Every step I take, I know that I’m not alone
You take the home from the boy but not the boy from his home
These are my streets, the only life I’ve ever known
Who says you can’t go home?

Who says you can’t go home?
There’s only one place that call me one of their own
Just a hometown boy, born a rollin’ stone
Who says you can’t go home?

Who says you can’t go back?
Been all around the world and as a matter of fact
There’s only one place left, I want to go
Who says you can’t go home?

It’s alright, it’s alright, it’s alright, it’s alright
It’s alright, who says you can’t go home?
It’s alright, it’s alright, it’s alright, it’s alright
It’s alright, who says you can’t go home?

I’ve been there, done that, now I ain’t lookin’ back
It’s been a long, long road, feels like I’ve never left
That’s how the story goes

It doesn’t matter where you are, doesn’t matter where you go
If it’s a million miles away or just a mile up the road
Take it in, take it with you when you go
Who says you can’t go home?

Who says you can’t go home?
There’s only one place that call me one of their own
Just a hometown boy, born a rollin’ stone
Who says you can’t go home?

Who says you can’t go back?
Been all around the world and as a matter of fact
There’s only one place left, I want to go
Who says you can’t go home?

It’s alright, it’s alright, it’s alright, it’s alright
It’s alright, it’s alright, it’s alright, it’s alright
It’s alright, it’s alright, it’s alright
Who says you can’t go home?

It’s alright, it’s alright, it’s alright, it’s alright
It’s alright, who says you can’t go home?
It’s alright, it’s alright, it’s alright, it’s alright
It’s alright, who says you can’t go home?”

Jon Bon Jovi/Richie Sambora – Who Says You Can’t Go Home, from the Have a Nice Day Album

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Barry Gross (@UKLegalEagle)
    Aug 22, 2011 @ 14:11:54

    I hope that they are not going to unveil Grandma as we all might get rather a shock. I rather hope it is merely her tombstone that will be unveiled. Thanks for that though; I had a good laugh!

    Reply

    • vanessabrooksceo
      Aug 22, 2011 @ 14:48:07

      Well I did say “metzeva” which is what I call it, but Americans say “unveiling for _____” so I wanted to make sure they understood me…. Tell your wife I got what she asked for 🙂

      Reply

Please comment - anonymously if you choose

