Round and round we go

It’s the first day of school. All is good. Kids are happy.

I left school child-free (finally) after dropping off my pre-Ker for a couple of hours at 10:30am.

And as I pulled out onto the street, I immediately knew what I’m going to have to blog about soon enough.

The roundabout outside school. The “traffic circle” as Americans so affectionately call it.

That thing was my pet peeve last year. It was my battle. I failed. Not only is it still there, people still do not know how to drive safely around it, the “STOP” signs are still there, when there should be “YIELD” signs, and there is still no sign saying “TRAFFIC ON THE CIRCLE HAS THE RIGHT OF WAY”

I’m waiting for a few weeks, so I can amass enough incidents at carpool time to have a juicy blog post about the traffic circle.

I promise not to disappoint.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Mark
    Aug 22, 2011 @ 17:34:21

    American drivers (well, 9 out of 10 of them) are so freakin’ stupid. How is it that they can’t understand that the people already driving in the traffic circle (roundabout) HAVE THE RIGHT OF WAY! Meanwhile we have 9 out of 10 people coming from the rest of the Federation campus barreling through the yield sign at full speed. I think all we need is a hidden cop to ticket 20 or 100 people one day and word will get around that the yield sign really means what it says. Yes, this is also a pet peeve of mine.

    Reply

Please comment - anonymously if you choose

