The MoreThings Change…

The more they stay the same – Bon Jovi (who else)

Cead Mile Failte! – A hundred thousand weclomes to my blog post from Dublin, Ireland.

So, here I am, 20 years later, sitting in the house where I grew up, and watching the sun actually emerge from the clouds for the first time since I stepped off the plane this morning. I’m writing this on Thursday, but it will post Friday, so as not to confuse people.

There is something wonderful about returning to the place you lived as a child. Something familiar and warm, no matter how many new roads there are, or how cold the temperature is (it’s not even 60 degrees today…). I stepped off the plane this morning and was greeted by the Irish accent that everyone in the US is always begging to hear from me. My sister and brother in law met me at the airport, together with my nephews and niece, who all ran to greet me. It rained all the way home. I was freezing cold.

Coming home is always special. You sink straight back into old habits. I instinctively know where everything is. There’s no chocolate in the house, which is very disappointing, and I will have to do something about that. Mostly, everything is as it was 4 years ago, the last time I was here. Next month will be 20 years since I left home for the first time. This weekend marks 10 years since Keith and I left London and moved to Boca Raton. And Shabbat is my birthday. I think the last time I was “home” for my birthday was the year I turned 18 – right after my first year in Israel. Hopefully my Mum or sister have made me a cake… I’ve come a long way. I expect a cake.

We will have a lot of family here this weekend, as we unveil the tombstone for my Grandma Hetty z”l on Sunday. It should be fun. I’m not looking forward to the mile long walk to shul on Shabbat, without an eruv, and possibly in the cold rain, but hopefully it will be dry and sunny… and at least I won’t be all sweaty when I arrive.

My sister & family go back to London on Monday, and I plan on seeing some old friends and drinking some fresh brewed Guinness.

I miss my kids and Keith, but I know they’re in good hands.

Have a Shabbat Shalom from Ireland, and I’ll see what I can manage for next week!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Clara
    Aug 26, 2011 @ 10:15:41

    I have a question about the eruv. My sister has a large Orthodox population near where she lives. In the area around the synagogue there is a wire or cord tied around the telephone poles and such. It’s about 10 or 12 feet high so that it doesn’t disrupt traffic or anything. Would that be their eruv?

    Reply

Please comment - anonymously if you choose

