It’s the most wonderful time of the year!

And I am crazy busy right now, which is why there hasn’t been a real blog post from me in a while.

Thank God, I am very busy with my business – everyone is looking for Chanukah and Christmas presents, so it’s a good time to be in my line of work. I am having a great time meeting lots of new people, and booking spa shows with some lovely ladies who are looking to share great products with their friends.

In addition to working, I started a class at BRS this past Tuesday. I have committed to taking Tanach BeShanah (Bible in a year). The first class was the chumash (Pentateuch) which was really quite hard to cover in under 2 hours, but I still came away feeling like I’d learned something new. I am excited to be learning again, especially Tanach – I am really looking forward to Nevi’im (Prophets) as I always enjoyed that at school.
Taking a little time for oneself is so important today. By committing to this class every Tuesday, I am taking 1.5 hours a week not just for me, but also for learning, something that often gets pushed aside when I’m very busy. Once upon a time my kids were all sleeping by 7:30, and I could go to any of the many classes offered at the shul in the evening. These days, my evenings don’t start much before 9pm, and I’m too tired to go to shiurim at night, and now I’m often working in the evenings.

I have special guests staying with me for Shabbat this week. My mom’s sister, my Auntie Sheila, and her husband, Uncle John, are on their way from England to Ecuador and the Galapagos Islands. As they had to fly through Miami anyway, they are spending Shabbat with us. We are looking forward to having them, and my kids are excited to see them after school today. I know they don’t read my blog, but that doesn’t really matter – we’ll make them feel like we’re very happy to have them!

Keith & I celebrated our 12th anniversary on Tuesday. I feel very, very blessed to still be together, and to love Keith even more than I did when we stood under the chuppah 12 years ago. In fact, my favorite photo from our wedding day was taken by Auntie Sheila, as we stepped down from the chuppah after the ceremony. She managed to capture a look on my face that said “I got him and I’m not letting him go ever!” I meant it then, and I mean it now.

Keith, I don’t know if you read my blog either, but if you do, I love you, and I am looking forward to the next 12 years, 24 years, 36 years, 120 years together! You promised me a roller coaster and an adventure, and so far, I haven’t been disappointed.

Shabbat Shalom

Please comment - anonymously if you choose

