Summer’s over

Three days of orientation/open house/meet the teachers.

Middle School orientation was first. This was a bit overwhelming for both me, and my new Middle Schooler. New school, don’t know anyone, first time in public school, no idea who is who, what is what. But we both got a good feel from the place. There’s nothing more encouraging to me, as a parent, to see returning students hugging the teachers that they haven’t seen since June. Surely that’s a good sign? My 6th grader though so. She reckons the teachers must be nice if the kids are all happy to see them.

I was pleasantly surprised at the number of kippot, and mothers whose hair was covered. I am torn as to whether this is a good or bad thing. On the one hand, it is good for my kid, as it means she is not the only frum kid in the Middle School. On the other hand, it makes me sad that so many frum families have had to move to Hebrew language charter schools, rather than stay in Jewish day schools. And yes, I believe that most, if not all, the families there, are there because day school is no longer an option.

My first and fourth graders had their “meet the teacher” days, and while neither of them know anyone in their grades, they were both made to feel welcome by the teachers and by the other kids in the classroom.

The night before school, we laid out the uniforms, reminded the kids what needs to get done in the morning before leaving the house at 6:55 (up, dressed, breakfast, daven, brush hair, brush teeth, grab lunch & backpack). They asked to be woken at 6:15 which I thought was a stretch, but that’s what we did.

This morning dawned very early for me. I got up at 6am, dressed quickly and proceeded to wake the kids at 6:15. My son and my eldest daughter got up, got dressed etc. and were both ready to go on time. My youngest needed more time. So we need to wake her a little earlier. And my eldest could have done with a few more minutes too – she has a lot of hair to brush!

We drove to the bus stop where a handful of other kids were already waiting. The bus arrived at 7am, and the kids who took the bus last year were thrilled to see him “It’s the nice driver! The one we like!” The driver himself spoke to the parents once all the kids were safely loaded and promised to arrive a few minutes before 7 from now on, and to wait until 7:05 to leave. As the bus pulled away, my 3 kids looked out the window. I expected to see anxious looks, even some tears, but instead all I saw was 3 beautiful, smiley faces, happily waving, as they started the first step in their next educational journey.

Hopefully when I pick them up from the bus in a couple of hours, they’ll still be smiling, and God Willing, the entire year will be full of smiling, happy children!

I hope your kids all got off to a great start to the school year too!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. abbbz
    Aug 19, 2013 @ 14:21:06

    It saddens me to know that this tuition situation does not only exist in NJ.I am so glad there are frum kids in school with your children. I wish that was an option for me (even though I am not religious at all) I would choose to send my kids to yeshiva if possible, or even a Hebrew Charter school.

    Reply

  2. vanessabrooksceo
    Aug 19, 2013 @ 20:06:22

    Reblogged this on Vanessa Brooks CEO Blog and commented:
    And I got back 3 happy kids this afternoon 🙂

    Reply

  3. Moshe
    Jan 06, 2015 @ 17:49:48

    Some of your blog comments made me very emotional thinking about the “process”. Writing from your heart. Great job. You put it out there.

    Reply

Please comment - anonymously if you choose

