5 days down, 175 to go!

Right? Aren’t there 180 days of school in a year?

The first week is done and I have 3 pretty happy kids. In fact, considering how low my expectations for this week were (new school, hubby out of town), it’s been a fantastic week!

We’ve made the bus every morning, with a few minutes to spare. The kids are getting up when I wake them, and getting dressed, eating, davening etc. Homework is getting done efficiently. And most importantly, the kids are getting off the bus with smiles on their faces in the afternoon.

All 3 kids are making friends fast. Even the shiest of them has been making at least a friend a day. The older two have been placed in the advanced Hebrew class (no surprise, the teacher took one look at their names and assumed they are Israeli). Add to this the incredible conversation I had with my Middle School daughter last night about diversity, and I’m a happy camper.

I know it’s early days, but I believe strongly in first impressions. I think that a good start to the school year is a good sign. Nothing is ever perfect, and I am sure there will be bumps along the way, but so far so good, so onward and upwards!

Shabbat Shalom!

Please comment - anonymously if you choose

