Time to get real

IMG_3264Two weeks from tomorrow the moving shipping company is coming to pack up our house and send i to Israel. Three weeks from tomorrow we get in our car, and drive north, headed towards New York to catch our Nefesh B’Nefesh flight. And in 27 days (27!) we board a flight to Israel, with another couple hundred crazy dedicated people making aliyah.

I wasn’t panicking until my husband mentioned last week “35 days til we leave!”. Thanks honey, I was not quite ready to start counting the days, but well, now I am. When I say “panicking”, you should understand that this is not related to the current events in Israel. It’s simply the panic one feels when moving your entire life from one house to another, and from one country to another. It’s no easy feat, especially with 3 kids and a dog.

Suddenly you realize that there is so much to do, and so little time. Out of nowhere you discover things you thought you’d sold or given away years ago. You’ve been purging for months (or so it seems) and yet there is still so much stuff in your house.

You cannot imagine how everything will get done, and yet, you know that it will.

To try and calm my sense of being overwhelmed (read, can’t stand not being organized), we got boxes from the shipping company this week. So we have started packing the easy things – books mostly, linens, winter clothing, toys, school supplies etc. – things that we will not be using between now and when the shippers come. As far as I’m concerned, the less time they spend in my house, the better. Having done this a couple of times before, I know that the hardest day is that day your house is getting packed up. It’s tiring, it’s stressful, it’s long, it’s hard work. And it’s emotional, because it makes it all real.

You don’t live some place for 13 years without making friends (I hope!). The last few days, I’ve had opportunity to spend time with my friends at various “farewell” things, and although I’m doing a great job of keeping it together when I’m with them, I totally fall apart once I walk away. So you may not see me cry. It may appear that I’m excited to leave, and that I don’t seem to care that I’m leaving you all behind, but you need to know that’s not true.

I’m blessed because I have an amazing group of friends here. There are some very special people in my life, and being far way from you all is going to take some getting used to. I don’t really do “goodbyes” because I’d rather believe in “L’hitraot” or “au revoir”. As much as I am looking forward to the next phase of my family’s life in Israel, I will miss you all very, very much. Come visit us soon in Israel!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Daniel J Morris
    Jul 15, 2014 @ 14:51:29

    Don’t bother bringing the winter clothing.

    Reply

  2. Rebekah Israel
    Jul 15, 2014 @ 20:32:36

    Thanks, Vanessa for another peek into the Aliyah life.

    Reply

  3. Cara
    Jul 15, 2014 @ 23:42:37

    Can’t wait to visit you! G-d willing, We’ll be there in 79 days… We will miss you!

    Reply

  4. mordechai
    Jul 17, 2014 @ 04:28:24

    Bring winter clothing it gets cold here

    Reply

Please comment - anonymously if you choose

